Recycling Centres switch to winter hours

Local Recycling Centres are set to switch to their shorter winter opening hours.

From Sunday 1st October the Centres will be open from 8.00am until 5.00pm* – changing from the summer hours of 8.00am to 8.00pm.

There are 16 Household Waste Recycling Centres (HWRCs) in the Liverpool City Region. They are operated by Veolia on behalf of Merseyside Recycling and Waste Authority (MRWA).

Lesley Worswick, Chief Executive of MRWA, said: “We shorten the hours over the winter to coincide with the darker nights over the forthcoming months. The Recycling Centres accept a range of household materials for recycling, from batteries, cans and cardboard, through to garden clippings, glass bottles, wood, and white goods. They also accept lesser-known items such as food and drink cartons, clothes, hard plastics and electrical items.”

All 16 Recycling Centres across the region also have new ‘Disposable Vape’ bins to help provide safe disposal and recycling routes for the millions of vapes currently thrown away each week across the UK.

Householders can check for details of what can be accepted at their local site.

The Centres provide a popular service for residents and can become extremely busy at peak times so visits should be planned carefully. There is a system in place for those who wish to visit in a van or with a large trailer – bookings can be made at For the two Halton facilities (Johnsons Lane and Picow Farm) householders should contact Halton Council at



The picture attached is of a Household Waste Recycling Centre.

From October 1st 2023 until March 31st 2024 Merseyside’s Household Waste Recycling Centres will be open from 8.00am until 5.00pm*. The Centres are located at:

Halton –

Runcorn- Picow Farm Road – WA7 4UB

Widnes – Johnsons Lane – WA8 0SJ

Knowsley –

Huyton – Wilson Road – L36 6AD
Kirkby – Depot Road, Knowsley Industrial Park – L33 3AR

Liverpool –

Old Swan – Cheadle Avenue – L13 3AF

Otterspool – Jericho Lane, Aigburth – L17 5AR

Sefton –

Formby – Altcar Road, Formby – L37 8EG
Sefton Meadows – Sefton Lane, Maghull – L31 8BX
Southport – Foul Lane, Scarisbrick New Road – PR9 7RG
South Sefton – Irlam Road, Bootle – L20 4AE

St Helens –

Newton-le-Willows – Junction Lane – WA12 8DN
*Rainhill – Tasker Terrace, Rainhill – L35 4NX
Ravenhead – Burtonhead Road, St. Helens – WA9 5EA

Wirral –

Bidston – Wallasey Bridge Road, Birkenhead – CH41 1EB
Clatterbridge – Mount Road, Clatterbridge – CH63 4JZ

West Kirby – Greenbank Road – CH48 5HR



Monday to Friday: Open 8.00am-5.00pm

Saturdays: Open 9.00am-5.00pm

Sundays: Open 9.00am–3.00pm

Merseyside Recycling and Waste Authority is responsible for municipal waste on Merseyside. MRWA takes a lead in advocating recycling, waste prevention and safe and effective disposal of waste for Merseyside residents.