RESOURCES Merseyside 2011 – 2041


RESOURCES Merseyside 2011-2041 provides the headline strategic route map to deliver sustainable waste management on Merseyside, transform the waste agenda and move towards greater resource efficiency.

The Strategy has been developed by Merseyside Recycling and Waste Authority (MRWA) – formerly known as the Merseyside Waste Disposal Authority, Knowsley Metropolitan Borough Council, Liverpool City Council, Sefton Metropolitan Borough Council, St Helens Metropolitan Borough Council and Wirral Metropolitan Borough Council (as districts of the Merseyside and Halton Waste Partnership) in consultation with residents, elected members and other stakeholders.

The strategic focus is to move waste management higher up the Waste Hierarchy by supporting activities on waste prevention, re-use, recycling and composting whilst recognising the impact these actions have on the amount of residual waste requiring treatment or disposal. This programme of work will be cost effective, affordable and deliver value for money whilst optimising environmental benefits.

Merseyside has made significant progress in managing its waste and recycled over 36% of Local Authority Collected Municipal Waste (LACMW) in 2010/11 and sent 223,000 tonnes less waste to landfill than in 2005.

The main documents and supporting appendices are in PDF format:

RESOURCES MERSEYSIDE 2011-2041

RESOURCES MERSEYSIDE 2011-2041 EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT A: Waste Composition Analysis FINAL REPORT OCTOBER 2010

SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT B: Public Consultation on the Draft Joint Municipal Waste Management Strategy for Merseyside FINAL REPORT NOVEMBER 2011

SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT C: Public Consultation on the Joint Municipal Waste Management Strategy for Merseyside and Halton Waste Partnership REPORT MARCH 2011

SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT D: Future Trends in Resource Use and Management REPORT NOVEMBER 2010

SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT E: Issues and Options Study and Options Assessment REPORT APRIL 2010

SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT F: Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) ENVIRONMENTAL REPORT MAY 2011

SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT G: District Council Action Plan – KNOWSLEY (Currently unavailable for download). For further information please contact Jon Dyson, Tel: 0151 443 2415, email: jon.dyson@knowlsey.gov.uk

SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT H: District Council Action Plan – ST HELENS (Currently unavailable for download). For further information please contact Brian Malcolm, Tel: 01744 456 430 email: brianmalcolm@sthelens.gov.uk

SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT I: District Council Action Plan – SEFTON (This is a pdf document). For further information please contact David Packard, Tel: 0151 934 4016 email: david.packard@environmental.gov.uk

SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT J: District Council Action Plan – LIVERPOOL (Currently unavailable for download). For further information please contact Shaun Alexander, Tel: 0151 233 3000 email: shaun.alexander@liverpool.gov.uk

SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT K: District Council Action Plan – WIRRAL (This is a pdf document). For further information please contact Tara Dumas, Tel: 0151 606 2453 email: taradumas@wirral.gov.uk

SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT L: Waste Prevention ACTION PLAN AUGUST 2011

SUPPLEMENTARY REPORT M: Merseyside Recycling and Waste Authority Action Plan (Currently unavailable for download). For further information please contact Stuart Donaldson, Waste Strategy Manager, Tel: 0151 255 2570 email: stuart.donaldson@merseysidewda.gov.uk