About Us

About Us

About Us – Merseyside Recycling and Waste Authority. Who are we, what we do and how we do it.


Waste Management and Recycling Contract – enables the Authority to deliver its services by:

– managing the municipal waste which has been collected by the District Councils of Merseyside under their own Refuse Collection and Street Cleansing Contracts.

the provision of 14 Household Waste Recycling Centres in the Merseyside area specifically for residents to take their own waste for disposal or to be recycled.

The Authority is also responsible for the aftercare of a number of closed landfill sites, which historically had been operated by the Authority or its predecessors. These include the former landfill sites at Bidston Moss and Sefton Meadows.


The Authority’s budget is funded by way of a levy on each of the Merseyside District Councils and is apportioned on a tonnage basis.

Staff Structure

You can see a diagram of the Authority’s staff structure here (pdf).


Carl Beer – Chief Executive
Peter Williams – Director of Finance
Ian Stephenson – Assistant Director, Operations
Paula Pocock – Assistant Director, Business Services and Strategy

Business Services

Jane Nolan – Business Services Manager
John Lally – Marketing and Communications Officer
Jenna Rose – Financial Services Officer
Abigail Looker – Chief Executive’s Personal Assistant
Christine O’Brien – Waste Education and Awareness Coordinator
Pauline Walker – Permit Administration Officer
Charlene Carbery – Permit Administration Officer


Peter Bedson – Business Support Manager

Estates Management

Tony Byers – Estates Manager
Binu Kurian – Facilities Officer
Kate Knowles – Environmental Officer
Graeme Bell – Environmental and Planning Officer
Rochelle Oldham – Environmental Officer

Waste Strategy

Stuart Donaldson – Waste Strategy Manager
Tony Scott – Waste Strategy Sustainability Officer
Glynn Stevenson – Waste Strategy Policy Officer


Gary Taylor – Contracts Manager
Paul Jobe – Contracts Compliance Officer
Rick Smales – Contracts Operations Officer
James Leyland – Contracts Logistics Officer
Karen Martin – Contracts Compliance Officer

Data and Performance

Nicola Hodge – Data and Performance Manager
Greg Harris – Data Management Officer
Garry McGee – Data Management Officer
Colette Gill – Marketing and Communications Officer

To contact any member of staff please call Tel: 0151 255 1444 or apply through our enquiries form, or write to:

Merseyside Recycling and Waste Authority, 7th Floor, No.1 Mann Island, Liverpool, Merseyside, L3 1BP.