

At the Annual meeting of the Authority held on Friday 22nd June 2018

Present: Councillor Louise Harbour

Councillor Tony Concepcion

Councillor Laura Robertson-Collins

Councillor Steve Williams Councillor Joe Hanson Councillor Yvonne Sayers Councillor Stef Nelson

1. Appointment of Chair

It was moved and seconded that Councillor Tony Concepcion be appointed Chair.

Resolved that Councillor Tony Concepcion be appointed Chair for the 2018/19 Municipal Year.

2. Appointment of Deputy Chair

It was moved and seconded that Councillor Diane Roscoe be appointed Deputy Chair.

Resolved that Councillor Diane Roscoe be appointed Deputy Chair for the 2018/19 Municipal Year.

3. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Preston, Roscoe and Norbury.

4. Minutes of the Authority Meeting held on 20th April 2018

Resolved that the minutes of the Authority Meeting held on 20th April 2018 be approved and signed as a correct record.

5. <u>Declarations of Interests by Members and Officers</u>

There were no declarations of interest.

6. Question(s) from Members under Procedural Rule 9

There were no questions submitted by Members in accordance with Procedural Rule 9.

7. Question(s) from Members of the Public under Procedural Rule 10

There were no questions submitted by members of the public in accordance with Procedural Rule 10.

8. Motion proposed by Members under Procedural Rule 15

There were no motions proposed by Members under Procedural Rule 15.

9. <u>Scheme of Delegation and Procedural Rules</u> WDA/15/18

Members were provided with a report detailing the Scheme of Delegation for 2018/19

Resolved that the Scheme of Delegation be adopted for the 2018/19 Municipal Year.

10. Questions on the Discharge of Functions WDA/14/18

Members considered a report asking for nominations from the Authority as to which Members shall be responsible for answering questions on behalf of the Authority at their respective constituent council proceedings, in accordance with Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985.

Resolved that:

 the under mentioned Councillors be nominated to answer questions at their Council proceedings on the discharge of functions of this Authority, in accordance with Section 41 of the Local Government Act 1985. Knowsley MBC
Liverpool CC
St Helens MBC
Councillor Laura Robertson-Collins
Councillor Charlie Preston
Councillor Diane Roscoe
Wirral MBC
Councillor Tony Norbury

11. <u>Appointments and Committees</u> WDA/16/18

A report was provided to Members requesting that all of the necessary appointments and approvals in relation to the Authority's Committees be made. Also to agree the terms of reference and appointments to the Forward Planning Panel; and to consider the Authority's representation on other bodies for the 2018/19 Municipal Year.

Resolved that:

- the Terms of Reference and delegations for the Appeals Committee, Audit and Governance Committee and the Investigating and Disciplinary Committee be approved for the 2018/19 Municipal Year;
- 2. appointment of Chair to the Investigating and Disciplinary Committee is Councillor Steve Williams;
- 3. Appointment of Members to the Forward Planning panel:

Councillors Harbour, Sayers, Preston and Concepcion

- 4. representations on other bodies for the 2018/19 Municipal Year be as follows:
 - a. The Board of Mersey Waste Holdings Limited

Councillors Roscoe, Preston and Concepcion

b. The Board of Bidston Methane

Councillors Preston, Williams and Norbury

c. North Western Local Authorities' Employers' Organisation

To be confirmed

d. The Appeals Committee

Councillors Williams, Harbour, Concepcion and Sayers

e. The Audit and Governance Committee

Councillors Williams, Harbour, Hanson and Roscoe

f. The Investigating and Disciplinary Committee

Councillors Roscoe, Robertson-Collins and Williams

5. delegated powers of the Authority be granted to the Clerk to consult with all Members and finalise the outstanding appointments in relation to the above.

12. <u>Outturn Report 17/18</u> WDA/13/18

Members were provided with a report advising of both the final outturn with regard to the Authority's Capital and Revenue expenditure in 2017/18 and the position of the Authority's reserves. The final outturn positions for the Authority's Prudential Indicators were also included in the report for Members to note.

Resolved that:

- 1. the final outturn position with regard to the Authority's Expenditure for 2017/18 be noted; and
- 2. the final outturn with regard to the Authority's Prudential Indicators as included in Appendix 2 to the report be noted.

Councillor Laura Robertson-Collins wanted to note Liverpool's increase in recycling as demonstrated by the increase of recycling credit payments for Liverpool for 2017/18.

Councillor Williams requested an update report on recycling credit figures.

Councillor Tony Concepcion wished to pass his thanks to Councillor Graham Morgan for all his hard work as previous Chairman and to wish him well in his new role.