Links


Local Authorities

Liverpool City Council – www.liverpool.gov.uk
Sefton Borough Council – www.sefton.gov.uk
Knowsley Council – www.knowsley.gov.uk
Halton Council – www.halton.gov.uk
Wirral Borough Council – www.wirral.gov.uk
St Helens Council – www.sthelens.gov.uk


Central Government

Department of Environment Food and Rural Affairs – www.defra.gov.uk
The Waste resources and Action Programme – www.wrap.org.uk
Direct Government – www.direct.gov.uk


Other Waste Disposal Authorities/Other Areas

Greater Manchester Waste Disposal Authority – www.gmwda.gov.uk
Capital Waste Facts – www.capitalwastefacts.com
London Waste Action – www.londonwasteaction.org
Transforming Waste Scotland – www.transformingwastescotland.org.uk


Composting

Composting Association – www.composting.org.uk


Business and Industry

Chartered Instituite for Waste Management – www.ciwm.co.uk
Waste Management Industry Training and Advisory Board – www.wamitab.org.uk
Environment Agency – www.netregs.gov.uk
Envirolink Northwest – www.envirolinknorthwest.co.uk
Recipro (formerly BuilderScrap) – www.recipro-uk.com


Hazardous Waste

Hazardous Waste – www.hazardouswaste.org.uk


Asbestos

Health and Safety Executive – http://www.hse.gov.uk/asbestos/essentials/index.htm


Recycling

Recycle Now – www.recyclenow.com
Recycle For Merseyside and Halton – www.recycleformerseysideandhalton.com
Recycle More – www.recycle-more.co.uk
Recycled Products Guide – www.recycledproducts.org.uk
Pollution Issues – www.pollutionissues.co.uk
Freegle – www.ilovefreegle.org
Liverpool Freegle Network – groups.yahoo.com/group/Liverpoolrecycle
St Helens Freegle Network – groups.yahoo.com/group/freeglesthelensborough
Wirral Freegle Network – uk.groups.yahoo.com/group/Wirral-Recycle
Freecycle UK – www.uk.freecycle.org
Lizzie’s Real Nappies – www.lizziesrealnappies.co.uk


International resources

United Nations Environment Programme – www.unep.org


Lobbying groups

Greenpeace – www.greenpeace.org.uk
Friends of the Earth – www.foe.co.uk
Waste Watch – www.wastewatch.org.uk